Afrique Ameriques Asie Europe Moyen-Orient Internet Nations unies

Recipients of the 1992-2001 "Reporters without Borders-Fondation de France" Prize

The 1992 winner of the Prize was Zlatko Dizdarevic, a journalist working for Sarajevo’s daily newspaper, Oslobodenje. Today, he is the Ambassador to Bosnia in Zagreb.

In 1993, the Prize was awarded to Chinese journalist Wang Juntao, editor-in-chief of Economics Weekly. Juntao has since been released from custody and is now living in exile in Washington, DC (USA), where he is a teacher at a university and is an activist for freedom of expression in China.

In 1994, the Prize was awarded to Rwandan journalist André Sibomana, director of Kinyamateka, a semi-monthly newspaper. Sibomana used his prize money to finance the rebuilding of Kinyamateka’s offices, which had been partially destroyed during the 1994 genocide. André Sibomana died on 9 March 1998 of complications from hyperalgesia.

In 1995, the Prize was given to Nigerian journalist Christina Anyanwu, publisher and editor-in-chief of the weekly, The Sunday Magazine. Sentenced on 31 May 1995 to spend 15 years in prison for "sedition, the journalist was released on 16 June 1998.

In 1996, the Prize went to Turkish journalist Isik Yurtçu, former managing editor of the pro-Kurdish daily, Ozgur Gundem. After serving a prison sentence of 14 years and 10 months, he was granted a pardon and was released on 15 August 1997.

In 1997, the Prize was awarded to Cuban journalist Raúl Rivero, renowned freelance journalist and founder of the Cuba Press Agency. Despite pressure and threats from the state security service, Raúl Rivero is determined to remain in his country.

In 1998, the Prize was given to Syrian journalist Nizar Nayyouf, editor-in-chief of the monthly publication, The Voice of Democracy. This journalist, who was released in May 2001, had been in jail since 1992. On 17 March, 1992, a military court had sentenced him to a 10-year prison term and deprived him of his civil rights.

In 1999, the Prize was attributed to Burmese journalist and novelist San San Nweh. She was arrested in Rangoon on 5 August 1994, and given a 10-year prison term for "circulating anti-government reports." At that time, she was managing several women’s magazines. San San Nweh, now 57 years old, was released in July 2001.

In 2000, the Prize went to Spanish Basque journalist Carmen Gurruchaga of the El Mundo daily. Having been the target of several violent ETA terrorist attacks and death threats, she moved to Madrid, where she currently works under police protection, as do some 50 of her Spanish colleagues. Despite her exile, Carmen Gurruchaga is an inspiring symbol of resistance against ETA terror tactics.

The 2001 "Reporters without Borders - Fondation de France" Prize was awarded to imprisoned Iranian journalist Reza Alijani. Subjected to numerous death threats for expressing views favourable to press freedom and other reforms, he was arrested in February 2001, 10 months after the magazine of which he was the editor-in-chief (Iran-é-Farda) was banned. He was released from custody on 16 December 2001, less than three weeks after receiving the Prize.

About us

Contact us
in the world

2005 progress Report
I. The state of press freedom worldwide in 2007
II. The year 2006
III. Reporters Without Borders’ field of work
IV. How to help us

Accounts 2006
Income and expenditure
State of accounts at 31 December 2006